January 2013 News Notes

Read news notes from faculty, staff, and students for January 2013.

In the news

Ruth MacDonald, professor and chair, talked with Fox News regarding claims by a Texas company that a new microwave keeps bread mold-free for 60 days. Read the full article.

Sarah Francis, assistant professor, explained two new features of the Live Healthy Iowa 10 Week Challenge in an Extension and Outreach story. The new features were designed to “increase individual awareness of nutrition and physical activity behaviors and to provide researched-based education.” Read about the new features.

The project collaboration of Drs. Lorraine Lanningham-Foster, Christina Campbell, and Ruth Litchfield at an Iowa 4-H Center, called Immersion in Wellness, has been selected as one of the top three stories highlighted by Extension in their 2012 annual report. Read about the project.


Dr. Christina Campbell has been selected to receive one of five Faculty/Staff Inspirational Awards from the ISU Alumni Association. She will be recognized at dinner on May 31, 2013.

Dr. Toni Wang has been named the 2013 Timothy L Mounts Award winner by the American Oil Chemists Society. This award recognizes excellence in research “relating to the science and technology of edible oils.” Wang will receive the award at the 104th AOCS Annual Meeting and Expo in Montreal, Quebec, Canada and present an award lecture.

Dr. Kevin Schalinske has been elected the President-Elect for the Iowa State University Faculty Senate.

Zongyu Zhang, food science and technology graduate student, received a certificate of accomplishment for completing six projects in the Competent Communication Manual from the iToast Toastmasters Club.

New Grants

James Hollis (PI, Food Science and Human Nutrition), Walter Hsu (Biomedical Science), and Robert West (Psychology), $75,320 from the National Pork Board - The effect of breakfast meals differing in macronutrient composition on satiety and cognitive performance in healthy undergraduate students.

Stephanie Jung (PI, Food Science and Human Nutrition) and James Hollis (Food Science and Human Nutrition), $56,033 from the French American Cultural Exchange - Franco-american alliance and student exchange to design next generation of sustainable, safe, and nutritional food.

Catherine Strohbehn (PI, Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management), Lorraine Lanningham-Foster (Food Science and Human Nutrition), and Ruth Litchfield (Food Science and Human Nutrition), $36,882 from the Iowa Department of Education - Team Nutrition Training Grant.

Angela Shaw (PI, Food Science and Human Nutrition), Catherine Strohbehn (Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management), Margaret Smith (Value Added Agriculture), Lester Wilson (Food Science and Human Nutrition), Linda Naeve (Value Added Agriculture), and Paul Domoto (Horticulture), $23,939 from the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship - Statewide On-Farm Food Safety Program.

Lester Wilson (PI, Food Science and Human Nutrition) and Gail Nonnecke (Horticulture), $20,755 from the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship - Determining the optimum harvest time for Aronia Berries to maximize their antioxidant and sensory properties.

  • Tools